If you use Facebook.com, perhaps you have seen the following status message:
"With the new 'FB timeline' on its way for EVERYONE, please do both of us a favor: Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you'll see a box that says "Subscribed." Hover over that, then go to "Comments and Likes" and uncheck it. That will stop my posts -- and yours to me -- from showing up on the side bar (ticker) for everyone to see, but MOST IMPORTANTLY it LIMITS HACKERS from invading our profiles. If you re-post this I will do the same for you. Thanks! (Click like on this post so I will know you unchecked.)"
I can share this from personal experience. A couple Facebook friends sent this status message to me, and this hoax tricked me, too. The whole experience is reminder:
- Don't believe everything you read on social networking sites, and
- Verify claims before forwarding them as status messages to your friends.